This topic explains what happens to start the synchronization process and what the
synchronization process does.
The synchronization always starts when the following happens:
- You manually upload a LDAP/AD Integration Configuration (LIC)
file. Every new or updated LIC upload triggers a new
- If the automatic synchronization is enabled, a synchronization
is started when the timer goes off.
Note: Eucalyptus does not allow concurrent synchronization. If you
trigger synchronization more than once within a short time period,
Eucalyptus only allows the first one.
During a synchronization, everything specified by an LIC in the
LDAP/AD tree will be downloaded into Eucalyptus’ internal database.
Each synchronization is a merging process of the information already
in the database and the information from LDAP/AD. There are three
cases for each entity: user, group or account:
- If an entity from LDAP/AD is not in Eucalyptus, a new one is
created in the database.
- If an entity from LDAP/AD is already in Eucalyptus, the
Eucalyptus version is updated. For example, if a user’s info
attributes are changed, those changes are downloaded and
- If an entity in Eucalyptus is missing from LDAP/AD, it will be
removed from the database if the clean-deletion option in LIC is
set to true. Otherwise, it will be left in the database.
Important: If clean-deletion is set to true, the removed
entities in Eucalyptus will be lost forever, along with all its
permissions and credentials. The resources associated with the
entity will be left untouched. It is system administrator’s job to
recycle these resources.